Vegan Nutrition: Read the Food Label

 In Latest Posts, Vegan Essentials, Vegan Food Pyramid

Nutrition facts label are required for packaged foods. The basis for the nutrition facts are based on the variety of dietary targets. Vegan practice has reached 8 million in population, and almost 23 million people follow a diet that is incline with veganism. For vegetarian products, there is a mandatory mark for vegetarian or non-vegetarian products.

The terms “100%” and “pure” does not mean the product is not mean it is unadulterated or substituted with any additives or non-vegan ingredients. Unlike any vegetarian claims, vegans only permit plant-source ingredients or foods.

Food labels can sometimes confuse us. It can be a hassle for new vegans.  Here is a quick guide on how to understand the food labels of a vegan food, and for you to decide whether a product is what you desired or considered safe.

  1. Check the serving size. Vegan foods usually serve 2 to 3 grams of fiber per serving.
  2. Check the carbohydrate. There are no refined carbohydrates. In the ingredients, search through the list for any whole grains.
  3. Check the cholesterol. When the product contains cholesterol, even for a small quantity, the product is not considered vegan. Plant-based vegetables do not contain cholesterol. However, there are also products that are non-vegan but does not contain cholesterol.
  4. Check for the sugar. Added sugars should be avoided.
  5. Check for oil. The product should not contain any oxidized palm oil or saturated fats.
  6. Check for allergens or bolded text. There are a list of common allergens of the product listed at the end of the list of ingredients. Allergens include eggs, wheat, soy, and milks. There are manufacturers that bolded the text of their common allergens.
  7. Check for animal products in the ingredients. There are some ingredients that can be commonly found in plant or animal sources. These are the following examples of animal ingredients:
  8. Casein
  9. Lactose
  10. Whey
  11. Elastin
  12. Collagen
  13. Keratin
  14. Gelatin
  15. Lard or tallow
  16. Shellac
  17. Aspic
  18. Honey
  19. Propolis
  20. Royal Jelly
  21. Albumin
  22. Isinglass
  23. Vitamin D3
  24. Pepsin; and
  25. Cod liver oil
  26. Check the vegan label on the product. Trading and food laws can be misleading and deceptive in representations. Thus, vegan labels can be trusted on the product’s food labels. It is visible for customers and helps them shop in convenience.

Take note that vegan products do not sometimes suit for people with allergies. Vegans may not be an animal-based product, but it does not mean it does not contain allergens.

The most healthy vegan foods are the frozen and fresh non-genetically modified organism products. Give importance to minimally processed foods. Take note that it is best to reach the manufacturer. Groups of vegetarian consumers suggest contacting the manufacturers to discern the ingredient sources of the product. Moreover, most vegans promote cruelty-free, you can ask the manufacturer regarding animal testing, and they will answer your inquiries regarding the matter.

Recent Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text.

Start typing and press Enter to search